Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Cure



Regular price $44.00 SGD
Regular price Sale price $44.00 SGD
Sale Sold out
  • Ships in 10 working days
Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing. Faith is the third studio album by English rock band The Cure, released on 14 April 1981. Preceded by the single "Primary", the album was a moderate success commercially but was received ambivalently by critics. Faith saw The Cure continuing in the gloomy vein of 1980's Seventeen Seconds, which would conclude with the band's next album, Pornography. Following the tour for Seventeen Seconds, The Cure returned to Morgan Studios on 27 September 1980 to record a new album. During this session, recordings of songs "All Cats Are Grey" and "Primary" were attempted, but neither ended up on the album. Robert Smith was hoping the tracks would sound "funereal", but instead he said "they just sounded dull". Most of Faith was written in the studio. At least two songs on the album, "All Cats Are Grey" and "The Drowning Man", were inspired by the Gormenghast novels of Mervyn Peake. Faith was the first album by The Cure to feature six-string bass guitar; "All Cats Are Grey" features Smith on keyboards and piano, with no guitar at all. The front cover, designed by former and future member Porl Thompson, is a picture of Bolton Priory in the village of Bolton Abbey in the fog.



  • A1: The Holy Hour
  • A2: Primary
  • A3: Other Voices
  • A4: All Cats Are Grey
  • B1: The Funeral Party
  • B2: Doubt
  • B3: The Drowning Man
  • B4: Faith

Genres & Styles

Genres: Rock
Styles: Post-Punk, Goth Rock, New Wave, and Coldwave

Other Information

This record features a Rhino Vinyl hype sticker, with the text "Remastered by Robert Smith" and "180 gram heavyweight vinyl".

℗ 1981 & 2005 Elektra Entertainment Group
© 1981 Fiction Records Ltd.

View full details

* Audio and tracklist in this preview may differ from the vinyl record. See tracklist for the vinyl record above.