Skip to product information
1 of 1

Lou Barlow

Reason To Live

Reason To Live

Regular price $40.00 SGD
Regular price Sale price $40.00 SGD
Sale Sold out
  • Ships in 10 working days
On Baby Blue color vinyl. After decades on the road and the never-ending hustle of life as an artist, Lou Barlow has tapped into a new confidence in the chaos. In 2021, the concept of balance feels particularly intimidating. Now more than ever, it's clear life isn't just leveling out a pair of responsibilities. Instead, we're chasing after a flock of different ideals with a butterfly net. On Barlow's new solo album, "Reason to Live," he has come to an understanding of that swirl rather than trying to contain it. As a long-time indie legend, Barlow has found a life akin to a middle-class musician. In recent years, he's moved from Los Angeles back to Massachusetts, where he lives with his wife and three kids. And yet rather than settle into a comfortable malaise or yearn for the open road, Barlow's strengthened urgency finds a way to merge the two instincts. "Reason to Live" is shambolic and grand yet intimate and doting, warmly acoustic and crackling with grit. "I had been struggling for a way to connect both my home life and my recorded life, but this record is the first time I've integrated that," Barlow says. By folding the many facets of his life into one package, "Reason to Live" radiates with a renewed balance and calm. That comfort in complexity shines through even in the recording process, with select songs having origins in decades past and others written in the early



  • A1: In My Arms
  • A2: Reason To Live
  • A3: Why Can't It Wait
  • A4: Love Intervene
  • A5: Privatize
  • A6: I Don't Like Changes
  • A7: Clouded Age
  • B1: Over You
  • B2: How Do I Know
  • B3: Cold One
  • B4: Thirsty
  • B5: Maumee
  • B6: Lows and Highs
  • B7: Paws
  • B8: Tempted
  • B9: All You People Suck
  • B10: Act of Faith

Genres & Styles

Genres: Rock
Styles: Acoustic and Lo-Fi

Other Information

Recorded at home from spring 2019 to fall 2020. Packaged in a sleeve with a light blue reverse and includes a download card. It also comes with a die-cut PE inner sleeve.

View full details

* Audio and tracklist in this preview may differ from the vinyl record. See tracklist for the vinyl record above.